Iowa Opportunity Forum Agenda

Monday, November 16, 2015

Des Moines Area Community College – Ankeny Campus
FFA Enrichment Center
1055 SW Prairie Trail Parkway
Ankeny, Iowa 50023

Agenda (in formation)

8:00 AM – 9:00 AM   Registration Opens, Continental Breakfast

9:00 AM – 9:30 AM   Welcoming Remarks

  • Rob Denson, President, Des Moines Area Community College; Chair, Opportunity Nation Leadership Council
  • Monique Rizer, Executive Director, Opportunity Nation
  • Wayne Ford and Mary Dominguez Campos, Co-Founders, Iowa Brown and Black Forum
  • Dionna Langford, Board Member, Des Moines Public Schools; Public Allies Alum

9:30 AM – 10:00 AM  Forum Co-Chairs Remarks

  • Retired Congressman Tom Latham
  • Dr. Andy McGuire, Chair, Iowa Democratic Party
  • Jeff Kaufmann, Chair, Republican Party of Iowa

10:00 AM – 10:30 AM Opportunity Index Data and Iowa Workforce Overview

  • Paul Kendrick, Director of Coalition and Grassroots Engagement, Opportunity Nation
  • Paula Nissen, Iowa Department of Education

10:30 AM – 11:15 AM The Power of Data: Iowa’s Opportunity Score and Workforce Data

  • Elisabeth Buck, Chief Community Impact Officer, United Way of Central Iowa
  • Paula Nissen, Iowa Department of Education
  • Russell Krumnow, Managing Director, Opportunity Nation
  • Mike Ralston, President, Iowa Association of Business and Industry
  • Moderator: Deidre DeJear, Opportunity Leader

11:15 AM – 12:00 PM Working Groups Session

  • Facilitators: Mary Chapman, Vice President Emeritus, DMACC; Opportunity Iowa and Paul Kendrick, Opportunity Nation

12:00 PM – 12:45 PM Lunch and Networking

12:45 PM – 1:30 PM   The Power of Collaboration

  • Mayor Sara Kurovski, Pleasant Hill, Iowa
  • Nate Clark, Vice President, John Deere Foundation
  • Jay Byers, CEO, Greater Des Moines Partnership
  • Jane Bradley, Vice President Academic Affairs, Hawkeye Community College
  • Marvin DeJear, Director, Evelyn K. Davis Center for Working Families
  • Tucker Murphy, Gateway to College Student, DMACC
  • Moderator: Monique Rizer, Executive Director, Opportunity Nation

1:30 PM – 1:45 PM     Remarks from Be the Change, Inc.

  • Alan Khazei, CEO, Be The Change, Inc.

1:45 PM – 2:00 PM     Break

2:00 PM – 2:45 PM     Getting and Keeping Young Adults on Track

  • Wilfred Johnson, Director, Classic Upward Bound Program, University of Northern Iowa
  • Laurie Phelan, CEO, iJAG
  • Thomas Willoughby, Project Manager, Implementation Program Office, Principal Financial Group
  • Marcela Hermosillo-Tarin, Iowa Department of Education
  • John Pedersen, Senior Vice President, Management and Training Corporation
  • Jazmine Geyer, Student Body President, Denison Job Corps
  • Moderator: Carol Hunter, News Editor, Des Moines Register

2:45 PM – 3:30 PM     Working Groups Session

3:30 PM – 4:00 PM     Working Groups Wrap-Up

3:30 PM – 3:45 PM     Opportunity Nation National Call to Action

  • Melanie Anderson, Director of Government Affairs, Opportunity Nation

3:45 PM – 4:00 PM     Closing

  • Rob Denson, President, DMACC

For more information, please contact

ON Iowa Theme Graphic - High Res - FINAL


Stay Informed